CWM attorneys Jim Chapman and Steve Stancliff represent Ohio partnership in win for rights to salvage gold treasure from shipwreck

CINCINNATI (AP) — A fugitive treasure hunter's company has lost its bid to stop deep-sea explorers from bringing up gold and other artifacts from a ship that sank off the South Carolina coast in 1857 and has been the subject of legal fights for nearly 30 years. (

Thursday Jul 10, 2014
| Amanda Lee Myers for The Associated Press

Elaine Inman Hogan Graduates from 2014 Class of LEAD Hampton Roads

July 2014 – Crenshaw, Ware & Martin, P.L.C., is pleased to congratulate Elaine Inman Hogan, a partner with the firm, on her graduation from LEAD Hampton Roads as a member of the Class of 2014.  

LEAD Hampton Roads is a leadership program established 26 years ago to connect established and emerging leaders in the region.  Over the course of nine-months, class members study key issues impacting Hampton Roads on a local, statewide, national and global level.  The program helps to strengthen regional leadership and improve the quality of life in Hampton Roads through education, partnerships and networking.

Elaine is a partner with the firm and Chair of its Employment Law Group. She focuses her practice on assisting employers and management in areas of compliance and litigation.  Elaine is the author of the Virginia Employer Law blog ( and also speaks on employment law issues affecting Virginia businesses.


July 18, 2014 - Crenshaw, Ware & Martin PLC is pleased to announce that seven of its lawyers have been named to the 2015 Edition of Best Lawyers in America

Delphine G. Carnes, Project Finance Law and Public Finance Law

James L. Chapman IV, Admiralty/Maritime Law and Commercial Litigation

Timothy A. Coyle, Municipal Law

Howard W. Martin, Jr., Real Estate Law

Donald C. Schultz, Bankruptcy & Creditor-Debtor Rights/Insolvency & Reorganization Law, Eminent Domain/Condemnation Law, and Litigation-Bankruptcy

W. Ryan Snow, Admiralty/Maritime Law

Guilford D. Ware, Admiralty/Maritime Law

Donald C. Schultz was selected as 2015 "Lawyer of the Year" for Eminent Domain and Condemnation Law in the Norfolk area. Only a single lawyer in each practice area and designated metropolitan area is honored as the “Lawyer of the Year.”  The designation reflects the high level of respect a lawyer has earned among other leading lawyers in the same communities and practice areas.

CWM is a multi-disciplined business law firm that represents clients ranging from small businesses to Fortune 500 companies and government agencies.